25 and Counting

A day in the life… May 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Emilie @ 9:00 am

Thanks to Karen for organizing Diabetes Blog Week!  I am more of a lurker, but am using Karen’s daily suggestions as a way to hopefully get myself into some sort of routine that will hopefully inspire me to post more often. 

So…a day in the life.  This is a hard one, since I tend to keep the minute by minute of diabetes in the back of my head.  How do I do this, seeing as diabetes is a 24/7 constant in our lives?  I’m not really sure, I think I stay pretty distracted with work, child, hubby, etc.  Here’s a sampling of my day:

7:00 a.m. – my daughter scampers in our room, usually climbs into bed.  If I’m lucky she goes to sleep.  If I’m not, the questions begin – “Mommy, can I wear a dress today?  Mommy, is today to- day at school?  Mommy is it tomorrow?”  My brain turns into mush immediately.  Today was a question day and I got showered and dressed with her at my feet.  I left pump and sensor receiver in bed so I could roam around free for a few minutes.  Daughter brings pump and receiver to me after I am done showering – “Daddy said to bring them to you.  One is beeping.”  Pump alarmed because no buttons had been pushed in 11 hours…. 

7:45 a.m. – we are all dressed, and in the kitchen.  I manage to test, and calibrate my dexcom.  129, not bad.  For some reason, my fasting numbers are a crap shoot in the mornings.  I just never know what I am going to get.  While lifting child onto the counter so she can “help” me make whatever we have decided to eat for breakfast.  Bolus, sit all of our food on the table.  Lift food to my mouth to be interrupted by a request for a different spoon.   Attempt to eat what I’ve bolused for, before I run out the door. 

8:00 a.m. – Run out the door, commute commences.  I am lucky and find a seat on the metro, I pull out my dexcom and see what breakfast is doing.  Dexcom doesn’t seem to know, it says ???. 

9:00 a.m. – walk into work, find coffee asap.  Day at work commences.  Dex comes back to life and starts beeping.  I pull it out.  It says 221.  Meter says 295.  Fabulous.  Bolus, try to concentrate despite the fact that I can feel the nausea and thirst coming. 

12:30 p.m. – I notice I am hungry.  Pull out the meter, test.  dammit, I am still 198.  Where did that bolus go?  More insulin.

1:30 p.m. – Finally I am heading south and feeling like I can eat.  A turkey sandwich from Quizno’s on wheat bread.  I guesstimate 60 grams of carbs, and bolus accordingly.

2:40 p.m. – Check of the dex reveals I guessed somewhere right.  Dex leaves me alone for a few hours. 

4:45 p.m. – Check BG before getting on metro.  You just never know what may happen on the metro these days, so I prefer to fix any issues before I get on it.  I am 96 and holding steady on the Dexcom.  I try not to be too surprised. 

5:30 p.m. – I start feeling that warm tingling familiar feeling.  I pull out dex which says I am flat lined at 96.  Pull out my meter which says 66.  4 glucose tabs.  Why does my dex fail sometimes?  Really frustrated, given my past hypoglycemia unawareness issues.   

6:00 p.m. – I am home.  Go meet daughter on the playground, catch up on her day and socialize with the neighbors.

6:30 p.m. – Hubby walks in.  We discuss what to eat for dinner.  Conclude the house is bare from it being the end of the week, and we all walk to Cal Tor.  My daughter has requested a fourth meal, and eats an entire quesadilla.  I get a salad, but snack on some chips too.  I guesstimate 50 carbs, you never know with all the corn and beans in these salads…

8:00 p.m. – You guessed it, dex alarms.  I guess I over estimated the carbs at dinner bc I am feeling tingly again.  Well, at least dex caught this one…some more glucose, followed by bath, books and bed.  For the toddler…

 

One Response to “A day in the life…”

  1. Karen Says:

    Yay, glad you are coming out of lurkdom to post this week. 🙂 Oh those tortilla chips, they get me every time. Probably because I have no control – especially when there is salsa involved!!


Leave a Reply

