25 and Counting

NaBloPoMo, taking the plunge… November 2, 2009

Filed under: CGM's,Family matters,insulin pumps,Uncategorized — Emilie @ 2:52 am

With NaBloPoMo starting today, I thought it may be a great way to get back into the daily grind of blogging.  A lot has happened this past year, and a lot has stayed the same.  Over the course of this coming month, I’d like to catch up on what’s going on in my corner of the DOC:

  • Got a new pump!  After a unintended pump vacation (aka – my Minimed Paradigm 722 beeped the fatal button failure error while I was on vacation, hence having to use a pen for the July 5th weekend), I decided to take Animas up on their offer of a Ping for the low price of $900.  I exchanged my Minimed for a $700 credit, hence my relationship with a new (waterproof) pump began.  I’ve been on it since August, and while I do miss the simplicity of the Minimed menu and bolus wizard, I really enjoy being able to stash the pump and bolus from the meter.  Oh, and the most important question – I got a green one! 
  • Got a new CGM!  After kicking my Paradigm 722 to the curb, it was time to evaluate the CGM issue.  I fear living without this technology, and honestly I had been losing my patience with my Minimed CGM.  More often than not, it was spitting out numbers way too far off from my meter.  When I calibrated to try to reconcile the two, it would send out CAL ERROR, followed by BAD SENSOR.  It would be so far off, that it would screech all night saying I am low, and upon checking my meter I never was under 90.  I ended up not wearing it for weeks at a time, and that is not acceptable!  I made the decision to switch to Dexcom, and have been amazed at the accuracy and length of time I can make a sensor last.  The one I am wearing now is on day 10, and still spitting out numbers within 20 points of my meter!  
  • Baby #2…While the decision to try for baby #2 via a gestational carrier was made, the process of making it all happen has proven to not be as easy as I thought it would be.  We discovered some fertility issues on my end, went through a successful cycle in August, and I had 3 eggs that fertilized and made it to blastocyst.  Our amazing carrier went through her portion of the cycle as well, and the first attempt did not work.  We are looking forward to the next round, and I am trying to stay positive and keep myself busy so as not to obsess over things I cannot control.  
  • Speaking of things I cannot control:  Our daughter is now 3 and a half, she is amazing and learning so much each day.  For only being 3, she has started showing a lot of interest in my diabetes.  She will often ask me if I am low if she sees me drinking juice, and will offer to help change my infusion sets for my pump.  I let her do the swabbing of the IV prep wipes.  She is so kind and thoughtful, I really don’t know how we got so lucky.  When I think of all the horrible things that have happened these past three years, she is certainly the one thing that I have in my life that makes all of this worth it.  

   Here’s to this coming month, good things to come, and catching up…

 

Leave a Reply

