25 and Counting

Bad report card… July 10, 2008

Filed under: A1c results,BG numbers — Emilie @ 2:31 am

Last week, I blogged about CGMS needing to be covered by insurance companies to prevent things from happening like the car accident I had this past spring.  I have been seeing my endo more frequently sice then.  Right after the accident, my endo recommended me keeping my numbers higher so that I could regain the feeling of being low when I was higher.  He wanted my pre-meal numbers between 120 – 140 and post meal numbers higher than that. 

This was a huge blow to my ego.  I have worked so hard on my control for so long.  My A1c’s have been in the 6’s since 2003.  And in the 5’s when I was pregnant.  I knew it would be hard to see the higher numbers.  I didn’t want to do it, but my endo said there wasn’t an option.  The alternative was having another episode and possible suffering permanent neurological damage as a result. 

So I have spent the past few months running slightly higher.  And the result at my endo appointment yesterday?  An A1c of 7.4.  I was so shocked, I have not had one this high in a long time.  It is really hard to swallow even though I know that I am just doing what I am told.  That number really defines how I feel about my success as a diabetic.  Good a1c, I’ve done a good job.  Bad a1c, I have been slacking and need to work harder.  It is a report card to me. 

On a better note, running higher has eliminated the bad lows I was having before.  I don’t download my data enough from my pump, but looking at the reports that I printed for my appointment, it looks like I haven’t had a bg lower than 60 in a few weeks.  And, truth be told, a few times last week I felt low, and saw a 61 on my meter.  Before I was not feeling them until at least 45.  Before this, I would not even test most times because if I felt low, I knew I was really low.  So my endo was pleased with this development.  He said that a 7.4 was not a huge sacrifice for eliminating the bad lows.  So I do have to feel good about that.

 

2 Responses to “Bad report card…”

  1. Karen Says:

    Well, I have to tell you, I agree that in this case, the higher a1c was a very good thing because it has helping you avoid those scary, bad lows. But, there is a huge part of me that knows exactly how you feel about that over 7 a1c. They always feel like such failures – even if you know you need them for a very good reason. These are the days when diabetes gets so frustrating and you feel like you are damned if you do and damned if you don’t.

    But, you did what you needed to do to correct the problem of hypoglycemic unawareness. Now you can bring that a1c back down and have the best of both worlds!! Hang in there!

  2. Suzanne Says:

    HI!
    Welcome to the diabetes blogosphere. I just read through your blogs and, like so many others out there, I relate to just about everything you have said!! I came here, too, for support. I now have so many people who understand and “get” my frustrations, my anger and my small victories. It has been a lifesaving change for me!! Glad to have another addition to my group of diabetes friends!


Leave a Reply

